A Brief Freak-out about The Dream Thieves (ARC) by Maggie Stiefvater

So good it merited a terrible selfie in my pajamas.

 

This is not a proper review but I really need to mention how holy-shit-god-damn-can’t-stop-reading-infecting-my-dreams GOOD The Dream Thieves was.  Because, holy shit!  God damn, I couldn’t stop reading.  It was infecting my dreams.

The characters.  They are some of the best YA characters I’ve read about in such a very long tome.  I hate caring about people, and I’m usually very good about avoiding such inconveniences, but somehow Maggie Stiefvater has convinced me to worry about things like selflessness vs. ambition, andpersonal sacrifice, and loyalty and shit.  I love that we get MORE PSYCHICS! MYSTERIOUS DEADLY-DUDES! UNPLEASANT RUSSIANS! MY FAVORITE GHOST! PIGEONS AND RAVENS! And my favorite gang of five to ever seek out a sleeping Welsh king.

Also, the writing in this one was even better than in the first.  Maggie Stiefvater, your words speaking to my brain are having a weird impact on that hollow part of my chest where emotions should live.  It’s all heavy and fluttery and stuff.

And when the hell did cars become exciting?!?  I’m supposed to hate cars.  I hate them.  But there I was getting uncomfortably excited about magical engines and other nonsense.  What? Why? How?

I’ll try to write a proper review on Wednesday, but no promises.  Just… buy The Dream Thieves in September.  And read The Raven Boys right now if you haven’t already, despite the misleading cover-blurbs.  You can thank me later.

4 thoughts on “A Brief Freak-out about The Dream Thieves (ARC) by Maggie Stiefvater

    1. Hi Mariana! I’m lucky enough to work at an independent bookshop where we get sent Advanced Readers’ Copies of upcoming releases from the publishers. I found The Dream Thieves on our ARC shelf, and practically passed out from joy! I know that Maggie Stiefvater ran a few contests in which the prizes were copies of the early proof, but I don’t know if they’re still going on. Otherwise, it’s only a few weeks ’til you can buy the book from your nearest independent bookshop.

Leave a comment